Honorary Awards

Alan Morris

Chancellor, I have the honour of presenting to you Alan Morris, who council has determined should be awarded the honorary Doctor of Letters.

Mr Morris has had a long association with the Northern Territory and with Charles Darwin University.

Mr Morris came to the NT in 1980, shortly after self-government. He was appointed as Secretary of the Department of the Chief Minister and Secretary to Cabinet. He served the first four Chief Ministers of the Territory, and was heavily engaged in establishing the new political entity of the Northern Territory within the Australian Federation. Mr Morris departed the Territory in 1990.

Mr Morris was appointed Chairman of the Commonwealth Grants Commission in 1999, and continued his close association with the Territory in that capacity. The Commission is an significant body in supporting NT finances through the allocation of GST funding. He held that position for 11 years.

He was appointed to the Council of Charles Darwin University and served as a Member of Council for 15 years. He served as Chair of the Council's Audit and Risk Committee for several years and also as a member of the Council's Executive Committee.

He has had wide experience in senior positions in national and international roles. He was a senior officer in the Papua New Guinea Treasury immediately prior to moving to Darwin.

He served as advisor to Australia's Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund in Washington DC, and as Executive Director of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in London, representing Australia and several other countries on the Board of the Bank.

Mr Morris also undertook a number of advisory roles for the Word Bank, US AID and the Australia Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

In 2018 Mr Morris was made an Officer in the Order of Australia in the Queen's Birthday Honours. The citation noted his work in senior roles in Australia, and particularly his contribution to economic policy reform in several Pacific nations.

Chancellor

In recognition of his significant contribution to the establishment, leadership and governance of Charles Darwin University, Mr Alan Morris is awarded the honorary title of Honorary Doctor of Letters.

