CHARLES DARWIN UNIVERSITY (ACADEMIC BOARD) BY-LAWS

By-laws under the Charles Darwin University Act

1. Citation

These by-laws may be cited as the Charles Darwin University (Academic Board) By-laws.

2. Interpretation

- (1) In these by-laws –
- (a) "Act" means the Charles Darwin University Act;
- (b) "Board" means the Academic Board of the University established under section 20 of the Act;
- (c) "Chair" means the person appointed as chair of the Board from time to time under by-law 4;
- (d) "Council" means the Council of Charles Darwin University as constituted under the Act
- (e) "Deputy Chair" means the person appointed as deputy chair of the Board from time to time under by-law 4;
- (f) "Higher education academic staff" means full time higher education staff at Lecturer Level A, B, C, D or E;
- (g) "University" means Charles Darwin University;
- (h) "VET academic staff" means full time VET academic staff at Category I, II, III, or IV and NT Managers;
- (2) A reference in these by-laws to ex-officio members or the Chair of the Board means the person holding that office and includes a reference to a person carrying out the duties of that office in an acting capacity.

3. Membership of the Board

- (1) The Board consists of:
- (a) Ex-officio members of University staff as approved by the Council;
- (b) Elected members of the full time higher education and vocational education and training academic staff in the categories and number as approved by Council;
- (c) Elected members of the student body in the categories and number as approved by Council;
- (d) Co-opted members of University staff in the categories and number as approved by Council;

(2) Elected members of the student body must not be members of the full-time or part-time staff of the University.

4. Chair and Deputy Chair

- (1) The Chair of the Board must be elected by and from the full-time higher education and VET academic staff of the University:
- (a) The Chair holds office for a period of three years commencing on 1 January in the year following their appointment, and is eligible to be appointed as Chair for a further term of two years, but must not hold office for more than two consecutive terms.
- (2) The Deputy Chair must be elected by and from the full-time higher education and VET academic staff of the University:
- (a) Where the Chair elected under this by-law 4 is a member of the higher education academic staff, the Deputy Chair must be elected from the VET academic staff; and where the Chair appointed under this by-law 4 is a member of the VET academic staff, the Deputy Chair must be elected from the higher education academic staff.
- (b) The Deputy Chair holds office for a period of three years commencing on 1 January in the year following their appointment, and is eligible to be appointed as Deputy Chair for a further term of two years, but must not hold office for more than two consecutive terms.
- (3) The Vice-Chancellor must call for nominations from interested persons and conduct an election in a manner the Board deems fit;

5. Standing Committees and Working Parties

The Board may establish standing committees and working parties as it thinks fit, and a person may be appointed as a member of that standing committee or working party whether or not that person is a member of the Board.

6. Repeal

The by-laws in force immediately prior to the date of commencement of these by-laws and known as the *Charles Darwin University (Academic Board) By-laws* are repealed on and from the date of commencement of these by-laws.

The Common Seal of the Charles Darwin University is affixed in the presence of:	
Signature of Chancellor	Signature of Vice-Chancellor
Hon Sally Thomas AM	Professor Barney Glover
Chancellor	Vice-Chancellor